Author Topic: CTRL+ALT  (Read 1157 times)

AndyWear

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
CTRL+ALT
« on: January 05, 2016, 04:43:39 pm »
Hi Justice,
So I need to map CTRL+ALT together to use Unmask in Zbrush but this doesn't seem to be possible for me.
Everytime I put these 2 together, for some reason it always add the shift button together with it.  So instead of CTRL+ALT I'm getting CTRL+ALT+Shift!

That's a huge no no for me.  I need CTRL+ALT to remove masking in a controlled manner.  Can you check that out? 

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter


AndyWear

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: CTRL+ALT
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2016, 01:57:55 am »
I just updated to beta45(think this is the latest?)

and it might have fixed the problem.  Shift button is no longer being selected for this combination.

julianjc84

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Global Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: CTRL+ALT
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2016, 08:20:07 am »
hi andy
im on beta 45 pretty sure this is latest.
in regards to control shift and alt each mode has different options.
artist pad mode lets you set up disable toggle
fullscreen mode lets you set up disable toggle
float mode has no disable toggle option
assist pad has no disable toggle option

the control alt shift do not behave the same as a real keyboard unless set up in toggle mode and i personally dislike toggle mode
here is a video example of fullscreen
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d8GssjAXrXE

julianjc84

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Global Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: CTRL+ALT
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2016, 08:58:18 am »
some other considerations when using and setting up control alt shift in artist pad and how they perform.

for best results i recommend toggle mode (but i personally dislike this mode because it is different to how a real keyboard works) however its the only mode where the modifier keys behave as expected.

how are you setting up your workflow andy?

https://youtu.be/qfuSfRlV-3k

AndyWear

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: CTRL+ALT
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2016, 11:56:14 pm »
I absolutely have to have toggle on.  You can't select 2 buttons at once  which is true, but that's why I like to map them together into one button.  When you do that, it works pretty well. I'm aware that the ctrl shift, alt buttons behave differently if you have it selected in the pull down menu, compared to the click box.  I'll try your method tonite.  I'll screen cap my buttons so far for radial menu and tablet pro.  I completely gave up on radial menu though since it only works for a few minutes then stops working.   

AndyWear

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: CTRL+ALT
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2016, 12:00:44 am »
What I liked about radialMenu was that you can assign profiles to an .exe file.  When you open up a program with the .exe, it automatically loads up the profile for that specific software.  I assigned one for  zbrush and one for photoshop.  My profile changes as I go back and fourth between the softwares.  This is something I REALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLY want.  Probably more so than custom PNG.  It doesn't prevent me to get out of my zone to switch profiles each time I have to switch programs.
UNFORTUNATELY, this program only works for a few minutes before the buttons stop working.

Anyhow I also screen capped the tabletPro set up I have.  I have button combinations of shift,alt,CTRL which allows me to mask, unmask, hide, unhide etc.

AndyWear

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: CTRL+ALT
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2016, 12:26:09 am »
Well I just realized I was an idiot.
Earlier the  CTRL/ALt combo didnt work anymore, it started doing CTRL+ALT+SHIFT again.  Then I clicked on the F (frame) button right next to it and it was also CTRL+ALT+SHIFT.  It drove me nuttttts.  Then I noticed it was on the same horizontal row and tried different buttons on that same row and it was doing the same thing.  I decided to turn off Radial Menu and it fixed the problem....  Eventhough I had radial menu minimized when I was working with TabletPro, it was selecting unwanted buttons on certain rows.  So my problem was having 2 touch programs up at the same time.

Tomorrow I want to play with swiping to see how I can change profiles, that way I can make another set of buttons dedicated to my other softwares.  I use them all differently.

julianjc84

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Global Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: CTRL+ALT
« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2016, 12:42:04 am »
yes andy so true radial menu will accept inputs when minimized and it gets even more confusing of you have multiple configs set with toggle keys and you change applications strange things happen  becaue the modifier keys are pressed on the other applocations
video example
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FO49Kpa3-Os
direct time link 2:30
https://youtu.be/FO49Kpa3-Os?t=150

tablet pro does work somewhat with control shift and control alt combos but have to be quick when using and it is a unnatural working method and mind set. however it does work but definitely needs reviewing to why it behaves like this
https://youtu.be/u668-w1RMp0
« Last Edit: January 07, 2016, 12:44:49 am by julianjc84 »

MarioBaldi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: CTRL+ALT
« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2016, 09:56:36 am »
Hey guys,

I'm on a Surface Pro 4, and there's no way i can use ctrl,alt and shift together when the pen is close to the screen.
It works ok when I'm not using the pen.

Did anyone of you succeeded in using them?
Currently on beta48.
Thanks.

julianjc84

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Global Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: CTRL+ALT
« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2016, 10:15:51 am »
mariobaldi,
you have allow simultaneous operation of pen and touch?
it works like on the videos however it is not intuitive like how a typical keyboard would work.
beta45/46

justice

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Administrator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Re: CTRL+ALT
« Reply #10 on: January 18, 2016, 10:44:52 am »
You guys are awesome, just want to start there. Really makes me happy when I come to the forums and see so much interaction.

two comments on whats going on.

when setting up dual buttons make sure you are selecting "blank" in the editor to add ctrl alt together.

second and Andy I believe we resolved this in an email but in case that was someone else, make sure that you change your pen settings.
go to the search bar (cortana) type in pen settings and swap them from likely right to left, or reverse whatever is selected. This should free up Tablet Pro to work properly.

Julian, dude, you rule. LOVE all the videos. So helpful. I would definitely suggest trying the pen settings trick as I think there is something there.

We have also added new "frame with mouse button drag" to the layout editor. this is a really easy way to navigate inside maya and zbrush. I've got some mapped to "left drag with alt" and it works beautifully. =)


MarioBaldi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: CTRL+ALT
« Reply #11 on: January 18, 2016, 10:49:38 am »
Hey julianjc84, thank you so much for your quick reply!

Now that I'm thinking about, I may have disabled the "allow simultaneous operation of pen and touch for WACOM  devices", leaving the other "allow simultaneous operation of pen and touch"... I will check as soon as I'm home :)

By "it is not intuitive like how a typical keyboard would work" what do you mean exactly?
Sorry I'm on my phone and I can't watch the videos right now.

Thank you again!

MarioBaldi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: CTRL+ALT
« Reply #12 on: January 18, 2016, 11:26:39 am »
So, I've watched the video above. From julianjc84's video, it looks like the only way to press ctrl+alt+shift together, is to make a combo button, which is not ideal... am I correct?

MarioBaldi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: CTRL+ALT
« Reply #13 on: January 18, 2016, 01:16:19 pm »
Ok guys, I believe I made an important discovery.
There has been a lot of confusion in this forum about setting the palm rejection either to left or right, like that miracously solved all problems.
So, I had "left" set (as suggested by the authors), which allows standard keys like "space" to be pressed together with the pen.
This adds a problem though: it is not possible to press more than one key at a time. Also, even if it is difficult to notice, there is some lag when pressing keys this way, that may make void further tries to press buttons.

The "right" hand setting instead, introduces another problem, where pressing a button like "space" and then the pen, first releases the button (space in this example).

In other words, none of the two methods really work as they should, and I personally don't like to use hacks. I hope that this will help fixing the issue, in every case, for both "left" and "right" hand configurations.

julianjc84

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Global Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: CTRL+ALT
« Reply #14 on: January 18, 2016, 07:31:02 pm »
it looks like the only way to press ctrl+alt+shift together, is to make a combo button, which is not ideal... am I correct?
yes, combo buttons for me takes away the native concept of how a physical keyboard works and breaks workflow mindset if you change between a physical keyboard and tabletpro touchscreen implementation.

There has been a lot of confusion in this forum about setting the palm rejection either to left or right, like that miracously solved all problems.
i agree. it fixes some but creates more in the long term.

This adds a problem though: it is not possible to press more than one key at a time.
i agree. without being able to press multiple tablet pro keys at once we can never achieve a true virtual keyboard feel.

The "right" hand setting instead, introduces another problem, where pressing a button like "space" and then the pen, first releases the button (space in this example).
i believe_hope this can be fixed in the way tablet pro works because other application such as radial menu if you set the keyinteraction to key toggle, touch hold to activate space works as intended.

In other words, none of the two methods really work as they should, and I personally don't like to use hacks. I hope that this will help fixing the issue, in every case, for both "left" and "right" hand configurations.
i hope too,
video example of complications:
https://youtu.be/KVO3p0TXoEg